The Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus was established in the U.S. House of Representatives in June 2008 by Co-Chairs Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Barney Frank (D-MA), along with Members of Congress who are strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBTQ people in the U.S. and around the world.

Today, the Caucus is co-chaired by the eight openly LGBT Members of Congress. 

Our Co-Chairs during the 116th Congress are Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI); Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY); Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI); Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA); Rep. Angie Craig (D-MN); Rep. Katie Hill (D-CA); Rep. Sharice Davids (D-KS); Rep Chris Pappas (D-NH).

The Caucus also has two Task Forces: The Transgender Equality Task Force chaired by Rep. Joe Kennedy (D-MA); The LGBT Aging Issues Task Force chaired by Rep. Theodore Deutch (D-FL).